Can You Nanowrimo?

Hello.

So it’s that time of year again. In two and a half weeks the noveling monkey will be jumping on the backs of fools everywhere. Are you up for the challenge?

Let me say that in all the time I have been doing this I HAVE NEVER WON. Not even once. Last year I came close but then “Life”, that little bastard, got in the way and I dropped out at 30,000 words. Sigh.

Always the glutton for punishment, I am back in the ring this year. I have no story, no plot, no characters, nothing. I like an impossibility, don’t you?

So if you don’t have plans for November, why not jump into the pool of crazies and try to write 50,000 words in thirty days. You just might surprise yourself.

I always do.

Dogwoman

PS. Will be listing embarrassing word count in the sidebar. Come to mock.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by anotheca on Wednesday October 14 2009 at 9:08 am

    Good for you! I considered it, but decided I’m not ready to write a novel yet. But one of my big goals for 2010 involves a lot of reading, so perhaps I’ll be ready before too long.

    Still, not gonna mock unless I think I can do better!

  2. Here, this will start you out: It was a dark and stormy night…. Now write!

  3. WOOT!

    I add to Lisa’s suggestion and add: what the people want is love and a bit with a dog.

  4. Posted by dogwoman on Thursday October 15 2009 at 4:15 am

    It was a dog and nightly storm….

  5. Oooh, good one Alex! Maybe you can write a book filled completely with lines from various movies.

  6. Posted by anotheca on Thursday October 15 2009 at 9:11 am

    Dogs are pretty important, yes! Please do include a dog!

  7. Posted by dogwoman on Thursday October 15 2009 at 2:21 pm

    if this nanowrimo goes as well as the others the only dog will be the book itself.

  8. Posted by anotheca on Tuesday November 10 2009 at 10:24 am

    Not to be a pain in the arse, but you promised an embarrassing word count! Enquiring minds want to know; how’s the novel-writing going?

  9. Posted by dogwoman on Monday January 4 2010 at 4:15 pm

    Yeah topped out at 22,000. go ahead laugh, Idid.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

